About The Sticky Wicket series

Ewart Rouse is the author of a series of cricket-themed novels, new print and e-book editions of which are now available on Amazon at the following links:  Watkins At BatWatkins Fights BackWatkins’ Finest Inning, and Watkins’ Overseas Tour. You can purchase the books on CreateSpace as well. The Kindle/ebook versions are here: Watkins At BatWatkins Fights BackWatkins’ Finest Inning, and Watkins’ Overseas Tour.

For a tour of each book, read on.

VOL. I: WATKINS AT BAT — When cricket players from former British colonies come to America, they yearn to play their national sport. But first they must get  past wives who think  it’s time the men grew  up and began accompanying them to religious services on weekends, as well as the Little League baseball organization with whom they must compete for use of the field. Trinidad native Freddie Watkins is determined to overcome these challenges on behalf of his immigrant community — at the risk of jeopardizing his own marriage.

(Ebook version is: Watkins At Bat)

VOL. II: WATKINS FIGHTS BACK — After pledging anew to his wife that  he will give up his cricketing life and spend weekends with his family, Freddie Watkins gets some devastating news: His cricket club’s playing field has been reassigned to Little League baseball at the behest of his politically-connected adversary, Max Kruger. Watkins knows that asking Gina for another reprieve so he can fight the establishment on behalf of his immigrant community will be asking for trouble. But standing idly by while the club is forced to disband for want of a field isn’t an option. 

(Ebook version here: Watkins Fights Back)

VOL. III: WATKINS’ FINEST INNING — Rebuffed in his efforts to find a playing  field for his cricket club and to take the game of his youth to mainstream America,  the intrepid Freddie Watkins marshals  his forces — including an unlikely group  of middle-school students — for  a final  confrontation with the  anti-cricket, pro-baseball  establishment. 

(Ebook version here: Watkins’ Finest Inning)

WATKINS’ OVERSEAS TOUR … Another Sticky Wicket Inning — Fernwood Cricket Club leader Freddie Watkins finds himself batting on a sticky wicket when he organizes an off-season club tour of Jamaica and everything that possibly can go wrong goes wrong.

(Ebook version here: Watkins’ Overseas Tour)

* * *

‘Sticky Wicket’ reaches across boundaries, bringing people together in a game of cricket. It addresses the longings, the challenges, and the nostalgia associated with migrating from one’s own country, yet desiring to hold on to the things of childhood days that we cherish.

Ewart Rouse manages to balance very delicately the needs of the ‘Boys’ and the obligation to surrender to family demands on a finely woven thread, while challenging the ‘you are outsiders’ racist syndrome in a poignant, funny and contemplatively successful way.

I was there. I lived through every scene and episode until I was through. I laughed out loud on the trains and buses and between classes. My students said, ‘Ms. Amedé, you’re really enjoying that book.’ My only sadness was that the story had ended.
— Sandra Amedé, New York public school teacher/literary critic